A Monument

Published In: Us  Magazine
Friday, November 09, 2012

I sit cross-legged

by the window wide open

and gaze at your portrait

that I once portrayed

at the faint-white surface of my eyes

with the colours of bright dreams

and fixed it within the walls of my heart

I intently look at your face,

that I once portrayed…

The twist of the lip

The shimmer of the eye

The silver cheek

I feel that smile with my hand

As my old eye boils a cold tear

that rolls down my face

and falls into the lap of eternity

Ah, the old diaries

of the lost centuries

Ah, the old portraits

of the lost memories.

By Zunaira Afzal

12 thoughts on “A Monument

Leave a Reply

