Let’s Paint Love

Winning Entry Of Let’s Spread Love Competition at Revolution Flame

Let’s Paint Love
 By: Zunaira Afzal

Pencils,
blunt and sharpened
Graphite and charcoal-smelled
hugging in the holder
anxious to draw
at the barren sheet of canvas

Canvas,
rough-surfaced
Faint-white
resting in a frame
against the easel-stand
with its usual unquenched nature
kneel for a drop of paint

Paints,
multi-coloured
lemon-yellow and scarlet-red
spread in the palette
smudge the white surface
and fascinate the brushes

Brushes,
amber-polished
squirrel-haired
I scratch it with my nails,
or hold it within my lips,
so confusedly

The blunt pencils
The barren canvas
The desirous colours
appeal me…

I wish some day
I could paint love,
in that harsh world around…

2 thoughts on “Let’s Paint Love

  1. This is simply SPLENDID!! Impressive and expressive. A master piece though.
    ”I wish some day
    I could paint love,
    in that harsh world around…” ❤ ❤ (Y)

Leave a Reply

