Leaves and Dreams – Us Magazine, The News International

http://e.thenews.com.pk/newsmag/mag/detail_article.asp?id=1800&magId=9


I stand alone in woods, 
beneath an autumn tree  
resting my aching back 
against its trunk 
Silence reigns, 
inside and outside 
Dry leaves are scattered around 
Like the ashes of my dreams 
They look at me and whisper, 
They rustle, 
striking at my knees 
and then, crunched under the feet 
The muffling clouds of smoke, 
from the corpse of those golden leaves 
make me see  
the reality of fancies 
The smell of damp wood 
mixed with the smoke of nothingness 
leaving impressions of boiling tears 
at my cold ruddy-cheeks 
The sun peeps, 
through the naked boughs 
Solacing both: 
the trees and my eyes 
in their dead illusions 
 
By Zunaira Afzal
11 thoughts on “Leaves and Dreams – Us Magazine, The News International

  1. Always perfect…..
    sun peeps through the boughs,
    solacing both; the tress and my eyess….:)
    couldn’t ask for anything amazing like that!
    beautiful metaphors……I wish someday I could do something like that too 😦

Leave a Reply

